这一切都要追溯到1974年9月,麦克斯·赫茨勒先生在德国斯图加特开设了最初的赫茨勒+凯勒画廊。这间年轻而不拘一格的画廊,正努力找寻着自己的身份,并展出了汉纳·道波温、瑞贝卡·霍恩、马里奥·梅茨、大卫·拉宾诺维茨、克劳斯·林克、乌尔里希·吕克里姆等艺术家的作品。当时,担任自由策展人的卡斯帕·柯尼格,将美国艺术家唐纳德·贾德和理查德·朗的作品带来德国,赫茨勒用自己的画廊以及附近一间非营利空间来展示它们。

 

在他的“导师”、艺术经销商汉斯-宇尔根·米勒的带动中,以及其同事乌苏拉·舒耳、还有格雷斯林的支持下,麦克斯·赫茨勒策划了展览“欧罗巴79”。此时,他愈发清晰地意识到,画廊不仅仅扮演了商业性的角色,同时也与当时正蓬勃发展的艺术机构共同肩负着传播知识的使命。

 

在接下来的几年中,画廊逐步形成了具有个性特点的展览项目,并在1981年的一场群展上确立了自己的定位。这场展览的标题没有辜负画廊的雄心:“西德青年艺术展”。参展艺术家包含了维尔纳·比特内尔、冈瑟·弗格、马丁·基彭贝尔格、莱茵哈德·穆夏、阿尔伯特 ·厄伦、以及赫茨勒先生的兄弟马库斯·赫茨勒。

 

1983年,画廊搬迁至德国科隆。在科隆的十年是决定性的,这把麦克斯·赫茨勒画廊推向了国际艺术舞台。很快,“西德青年艺术展”时期的一些艺术家(比特内尔、弗格、基彭贝尔格、穆夏和厄伦)凝聚成一个小团体,此外还有乔治·赫洛尔德、休伯特·齐科尔等。莱茵兰的艺术机构密切关注着这些艺术家;埃森弗柯望博物馆就曾在1984年举办了传奇的展览“真相就是工作”,参展艺术家包括维尔纳·比特内尔、马丁·基彭贝尔格和阿尔伯特 ·厄伦。1987年,托马斯·斯特鲁斯在赫茨勒画廊展出了他的城市景观摄影,这标志着一项持续超过二十五年的稳固合作由此展开。

 

画廊在科隆和纽约之间形成了一种特殊的联结关系。上世纪八十年代,麦克斯·赫茨勒画廊呈现了四位相当重要的美国艺术家的作品:杰夫·昆斯、克里斯托弗·沃尔、罗伯特·戈伯和卡迪·诺兰德。1989年,赫茨勒与卢赫灵·奥古斯汀合作在加州圣莫尼卡开设了一个空间。他继续与两位最重要的美国当代艺术家开展定期合作:1989年克里斯托弗·沃尔在画廊举办了首次个展,展出了他的单词绘画等作品;杰夫·昆斯——在科隆,人人都记得他那两场不同寻常的展览,1988年的“平庸”和1991年的“天堂制造”。

此后,评论家被邀请在科隆和圣莫尼卡空间策划群展;参与这些展览的艺术家包括:拉里·克拉克、麦克·凯利、辛迪·舍曼、雷蒙德·帕迪伯恩、弗兰兹·韦斯特以及随后的里克力·提拉瓦尼和菲利普·帕雷诺。

 

在麦克斯·赫茨勒的职业生涯里挥之不散的游牧气质再一次袭来。九十年代初,艺术市场经历了挣扎的困境。而东西德统一后的德国也发生了剧烈的改变。1993年,麦克斯·赫茨勒决定把画廊搬到一个充满潜力的城市:柏林。1994年,他在夏洛滕堡席勒街开设了柏林的首间画廊,同时展出了格哈德·梅兹的永久装置。1995年,他在曾经的东西柏林分界线上的查理检查站旁开设了橱窗,并一直把这栋位于西莫大街上的建筑物作为他的主要展览空间直到2009年为止。2006年,麦克斯·赫茨勒画廊在位于柏林维丁的Osram-Höfe一座原电灯泡工厂开设了空间。2013年底,麦克斯·赫茨勒离开柏林-维丁的画廊空间,并在柏林-夏洛滕堡开设了两个新空间。

 

在柏林,我们看到了梅林·卡彭特、萨拉·莫里斯、艾琳·加拉格尔、阿图罗·埃雷拉、卡拉·沃克、以及近期的莫妮卡·邦维尼奇等艺术家的展览。接下来的几年中,萨米娅和麦克斯决定支持那些伦敦(本地和移居)艺术家,其中包括达伦·艾蒙德、格伦·布朗、迈克尔·雷德克尔、布里奇特·赖利、丽贝卡·沃伦和托比·齐格勒。此外,安德烈·布特兹、莱涅克·迪克斯特拉、莫娜·哈图姆、维拉·路特、马瑞佩、比特利兹·米拉塞斯、埃内斯托·内托、弗兰克·尼歇尔、依夫斯·欧本汉姆、理查德·菲利普斯也相继加入画廊。此时,画廊已不被任何特殊性、方向或风格所局限。相反,人们看到来自不同背景、年代的艺术家,自由地围绕着同一语境进行着独立探索,并逐渐形成了一团耀眼的星云。

 

2013年,画廊举办了成立四十周年纪念展览“记住一切”,这一特殊的历史时刻凝结成为结晶。然而,麦克斯·赫茨勒的探新还未结束。最近,艺术家纳维德·努尔、罗伯特·霍利赫德、艾德蒙·德·瓦尔赫和杰夫·艾尔罗德加入画廊,这再次强调了柏林的形象:一个包容着不同年代背景和眼界的混合物。

 

2014年5月,画廊在巴黎开设了新空间,并推出了阿尔伯特 ·厄伦的展览。此次展览距离厄伦在麦克斯·赫茨勒画廊的第一次个展已经过去了35年。

 

编辑摘录自《地下地理》,由让-马利·加莱为出版物《记住一切:麦克斯·赫茨勒画廊的四十年》所撰写。

Everything began in Stuttgart in September 1974 when Max Hetzler opened the Hetzler+Keller gallery. The eclectic young gallery was in search of its own identity and showed works by Hanne Darboven, Rebecca Horn, Mario Merz, David Rabinowitch, Klaus Rinke, Ulrich Rückriem and others. When Kasper König, then a freelance curator, brought the works of the Americans Donald Judd and Richard Long to Germany in his exhibitions, Hetzler showed them in Stuttgart in his gallery or in a non-profit space nearby.

With his „mentor“, the art dealer Hans-Jürgen Müller, their colleague Ursula Schurr, and the support of the Grässlin family, Max Hetzler organised the exhibition europa 79, with a growing awareness of their profession and a desire to highlight not only the commercial but the intellectual role of the galleries alongside the then flourishing art institutions.

Over the next few years a program was established, in 1981 finding its collective expression in an exhibition whose title again did not understate the ambition: Junge Kunst aus Westdeutschland (Young Art from West Germany). Among the artists were Werner Büttner, Günther Förg, Martin Kippenberger, Reinhard Mucha, Albert Oehlen and his brother Markus.

In 1983, the Galerie moved to Cologne. The ten years spent in Cologne were decisive and established Galerie Max Hetzler on the international scene. A little group soon formed around certain of the artists seen in Junge Kunst aus Westdeutschland (Büttner, Förg, Kippenberger, Mucha, Oehlen), to whom we should add Georg Herold, Meuser and Hubert Kiecol, among others. The Rhineland institutions followed these artists; the Museum Folkwang, Essen, notably gave home to the legendary exhibition Wahrheit ist Arbeit (Truth is Work) by Werner Büttner, Martin Kippenberger and Albert Oehlen in 1984. In 1987, Thomas Struth exhibited his cityscape photographs at the gallery, marking the start of a strong collaboration that has lasted more than twenty-five years since.

A particular connection was established between Cologne and New York. In the eighties, Galerie Max Hetzler presented the work of four American artists of considerable importance: Jeff Koons, Christopher Wool, Robert Gober and Cady Noland. In 1989, Hetzler went into partnership with Luhring Augustine to open a space at Santa Monica in California. He continued to work regularly with two of the most important American contemporary artists: Christopher Wool, who had his first solo exhibition at the gallery in 1989, showing word paintings among others, and Jeff Koons – everyone in Cologne remembers his exceptional exhibitions Banality of 1988 as well as Made in Heaven in 1991.

Critics were invited to curate group exhibitions, both in Cologne and in Santa Monica; the artists who appeared in these exhibitions included Larry Clark, Mike Kelley, Paul McCarthy, Cindy Sherman, Raymond Pettibon, Franz West and subsequently Rirkrit Tiravanija and Philippe Parreno.

The nomadism typifying Max Hetzler’s career now struck again. The early nineties saw the art market struggling, and in Germany things were changing after the reunification. In 1993, Max Hetzler decided to move to a city full of potential: Berlin. In addition to a first Berlin gallery in Schillerstrasse in Charlottenburg, inaugurated in 1994 with a permanent installation by Gerhard Merz, in 1995 he set up shop right beside Checkpoint Charlie, in a building in Zimmerstrasse that was to remain his principal exhibition space until 2009. In 2006, Galerie Max Hetzler opened a space in a former light bulb factory, Osram-Höfe in Wedding. At the end of 2013 Max Hetzler left the gallery space in Berlin-Wedding and opened two new spaces in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

In Berlin, we have seen exhibitions with Merlin Carpenter, Sarah Morris, Ellen Gallagher, Arturo Herrera, Kara Walker, more recently Monica Bonvicini among others. Over the next few years, Samia and Max had determining encounters with those (native and adoptive) Londoners, Darren Almond, Glenn Brown, Michael Raedecker, Bridget Riley, Rebecca Warren and Toby Ziegler.  Artists such as André Butzer, Rineke Dijkstra, Mona Hatoum, Vera Lutter, Marepe, Beatriz Milhazes, Ernesto Neto, Frank Nitsche, Yves Oppenheim, Richard Phillips joined the gallery. One searches in vain for a specialty, direction, or a school. Instead, what one sees is artists from different backgrounds and generations, freely gravitating around this context and forming a kind of nebula.

Remember Everything
, The ‘forty years’ exhibition held in 2013 crystallises a precise instant, but the adventure of Galerie Max Hetzler is by no means at an end. Recently, Navid Nuur, Robert Holyhead, Edmund de Waal and Jeff Elrod joined the gallery, which thus reaffirms its Berlin profile: a mixture of generations and horizons.

In May 2014, the gallery opened a new space in Paris, with an exhibition of Albert Oehlen, thirty-three years after his first exhibition at Galerie Max Hetzler.



Edited excerpt from Underground Geography, a text by Jean-Marie Gallais for the publication REMEMBER EVERYTHING : 40 Years Galerie Max Hetzler.